Civil War Fangirl

The thoughts of a (slighty eccentric & crazy) Canadian who happens to be obsessed with Abraham Lincoln, General William Tecumseh Sherman & the Civil War

Cool Things I Learned About The Civil War This Week…

Whew! Yeah, it’s kind of a long title, I know. I don’t need to tell any of you that Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War are huge passions of mine. While I’m not a scholar in either area, I still do a great amount of reading and research about it. I do that for personal interest but also for blog posts on here.

I always come across things every day that I find really interesting. It’s usually just some random, little fact.  I decided that every week (or perhaps more) I’m going to try and do a post about some cool things I learn about Abraham Lincoln and/or the Civil War. Or perhaps it’ll just be some random facts I’ve known for awhile and just feel like writing about them. Some of the things I find might even turn into longer blog posts.

So, what are some things I found out this week? This week it’s mainly about horses cause that’s what I’ve been researching…

– Rienzi (also known as Winchester), General Philip Sheridan’s horse during the Civil War, was born on a farm near Lakeport, Michigan. This town is just up the road from Port Huron, Michigan, a town I’m quite familiar with and only about 90 minutes from me.  Soon after the Civil War began, a group of citizens from Port Huron, Michigan, pooled their money together and purchased Rienzi, at the time called John, for Captain Archibald Campbell. Captain Campbell was a member of the 2nd Michigan Cavalry. Unfortunately, he had little experience as a rider and John the horse could be a little, as they say, head-strong. Long story short, Captain Campbell’s Commander was Colonel Philip Sheridan (later to became a General), who happened to be an excellent horseman. Colonel Sheridan took a liking to Captain Campbell’s horse. This was noticed by Campbell, who ended up giving the horse to Sheridan in June of 1862. Sheridan christened the horse as “Rienzi”, named after the the Mississippi town they were encamped in.

– After their deaths, Rienzi and Little Sorrel (General Thomas “Stonewall” Jackson’s horse) were mounted (another word for “stuffed”) by the same taxidermist, Frederic S. Webster. Both horses are on display – Rienzi is in the Hall of Armed Forces at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History. Little Sorrel is at the Virginia Military Institute Museum in Lexington, Virginia.

– Before being on permanent display at the Smithsonian, Rienzi was on display at Governors Island, New York. After a fire in 1922, Rienzi was moved to the Smithsonian.

– I was reading excerpts from Gideon Welles’ diary this week. I’ve mentioned his diary earlier in this post and this one. I read his entry recounting the Grant Review of the Armies, which happened April 23rd and 24th, 1865 (Oddly, Welles has the dates as 22nd and 23rd). He delayed his proposed trip south so as he could “witness this magnificent and imposing spectacle”. He recounts the thousands of people that came out to see the armies as they marched by and that public offices were closed for two days. The one part of the entry that really moved me? He ends by writing:

But Abraham Lincoln was not there. All felt this.

Clearly, he and many others were still feeling the loss of their beloved President. This is what I love about Welles’ diary – I can always get a sense of what he was feeling when he wrote an entry. When I read his diary, I do feel as though he’s actually talking to me. If you’ve never read it before, I highly recommend tracking down a copy of it (I got mine from iBooks – it’s free on there).

–  I want to end with a picture. This one is of Ellen Ewing Sherman. I first saw this picture a few months ago but I was reading a bit about her this week. She is my favourite of the Civil War wives. Is that any surprise, given that her husband is my favourite General? She was quite an interesting lady and I plan on writing more about her on my blog…

Ellen Ewing Sherman

What interesting things have you learned recently about Abraham Lincoln, the Civil War or just in general? Feel free to post in the comments.

Thank you, as always, for reading.

Until next time…

______________________________

Sources

Little Sorrel & Rienzi: Morgan Mounts of the Civil War. https://www.morganhorse.com/upload/photos/904LittleSorrelAndRienzi2012.pdf

Diary of Gideon Welles, Secretary of the Navy under Lincoln and Johnson.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Cool Things I Learned About The Civil War This Week…

Leave a Reply

