Civil War Fangirl

The thoughts of a (slighty eccentric & crazy) Canadian who happens to be obsessed with Abraham Lincoln, General William Tecumseh Sherman & the Civil War

Starting the day…

This is how I’m starting the day: a wonderful book and a good cup of tea in my favourite mug.

  
It’s a grey day outside, damp and cold. I want nothing more than to stay inside, reading and drinking tea. But alas, I have to work. Such is life. I don’t start until 1 so I am going to try and use the time to get some much needed stuff done.

But I decided to take the some time for myself right off and get lost in this awesome book for even just 20 minutes. “Heart Of A Dove” written by Abbie Williams has become my “never want to put down” fiction book as of late. It’s historical fiction set just after the Civil War. It’s wonderfully written and the characters seemed to real to me from the start. I love the lead female character, Lorie. One chapter into this book and I knew it was going to be hard to put down.

I’ll be honest. This is romance and I don’t normally read romance. But I was drawn into the book because it was set post Civil War plus I love historical fiction. I LOVE THIS BOOK! It’s given me a new appreciation for romance novels because it’s so well written. It’s also the first in a series. Book 2 comes out in June and book 3 is due in 2017. I’ll say this too – I have not been eagerly awaiting the rest of the series since Harry Potter! And I’m not even done the first book! I’m also planning on reading Abbie’s other books. She’s a beautiful writer.

Once I’m done this book, I’ll be sure to give my full thoughts. For now, happy Friday. Do you have a book you’re reading today or a book for the weekend ahead?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Starting the day…

  1. Oh my gosh, I love running across posts like this! I’m so glad you’re enjoying it. I know I’m the publisher so you might think I’m not objective, but I felt the same way about romance until I met Abbie. She makes romance entirely cerebral and intriguing in a way I didn’t think romance novels could be. She’s awesome, and thank you for your very kind words about the book. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • missbellatrix on said:

      Michelle, You’re welcome! And thank you for reading my post and commenting! I completely agree with you about Abbie – she does make romance so very intriguing! I finished the book a few days ago (absolutely loved the entire thing!) and I’m so eager to read “Soul of a Crow”! Honestly, I haven’t been this excited about a book since I read Harry Potter!

      Like

  2. Awesome! I think you’re in Canada right? Let me send you a digital version to review. Email me at michelle at centralavenuepublishing dot com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Books | Civil War Fangirl

  4. Pingback: Favourite Books of 2016: “Soul Of A Crow” by Abbie Williams | Civil War Fangirl

Leave a Reply

